My first Hairdorable

I don’t usually like mini dolls, especially ones that come in blind boxes, but recently Hairdorables really caught my attention. They are so cute!

P1160760.JPG

These are small dolls with brushable hair in all sorts of styles and colours.

They remind me of the little racer girls from Wreck-it Ralph…

P1160762

The packaging looks promising – adorable indeed:

 

When you open the box, it reveals small compartments that hide the surprises, and the center area makes a backdrop. There are a few different ones, but mine looks like a stand with treats at an amusement park.

P1160764.JPG

The first ‘surprise’ is a checklist:

P1160793.JPG

I went straight for series 2 because there are so many designs here that I am a huge fan of!

I would absolutely love to get either version of Noah…

P1160793c.JPG

Rayne, preferably Festival Rayne…

P1160793d.JPG

And especially Willow. Any Willow! But Fishtail Willow is my fave:

P1160793b.JPG

‘Sea Willow’ is an extra rare, and the checklist does not reveal her appearance in detail. However, based on other collectors’ videos, she is a mermaid with very elaborate detail.

My least favourite ones are Bella and Neila. To me, Bella is kind of unexciting, and Neila is a little weird. Anything else I would be contented with…

P1160793e.JPG

Before I find out who I got, let’s have a look at the accessories first:

P1160767.JPG

P1160768.JPG

Hmm, I think I know who this is 🙂

Say hello to Dee Dee:

P1160769.JPG

This is Delightful Dee Dee, and she is a little baker. She is wearing a one-piece dress with an apron, a see-through cap, and the most adorable frou-frou socks and shoes.

P1160774.JPG

Her dress is sooo tiny. You think you know how tiny it is, it’s a small doll after all, but it hit me with extra force when I took it in my hand:

P1160778.JPG

It’s not hemmed, presumably because of its size. It’s understandable, but a shame nonetheless, because mine tore a little at the collar while dressing and undressing the doll, and I was being pretty gentle. It’s also wrinkled/bunched up at the upper half, and it’s almost certainly unintentional. I’m not too too bothered by that. The closure runs from the top all the way to the bottom on the back.

Dee Dee’s whisk is the one accessory that changes colour. Alas, it’s super hot, and I only have a single ice cube, so I only got it to change colour slightly. It’s supposed to turn pink everywhere below the handle.

P1160771.JPG

Dee Dee’s hair is two toned and curly, kind of like cotton candy. It is styled in two ponytails.

P1160775.JPG

She is articulated fairly well for such a small doll. Her arms and legs move to the front and back, to the sides, and rotate. Her head only moves to the sides, though.

P1160781.JPG

P1160779.JPG

I really like the way her legs and feet are sculpted.

P1160784.JPG

Oh, yes, she also has a painted on pearly swimsuit underneath her clothes.

I’m fairly happy with what I got, Dee Dee is an adorable character. However, this outcome leaves longing for one of my top threes… This can be a trap, I know. Honestly, they were probably made to be a trap like that. Darn you, cute addictive toys…

P1160790.JPG

The price is an obstacle, these aren’t cheap at around 19-20 EUR/USD where I can get them. Are they worth it? I do think they are well made and that the designs are top notch. Therefore, it comes down to how much their style suits you – for me, the answer is a lot! I do think they are overpriced, but I like how they look so much that I might get one or two more… eventually.

Meanwhile, I will do my best to give Delightful Dee Dee proper appreciation, regardless of her not being a Willow or a Noah or a Rayne. They have something adorably Disney-esque about them, don’t they?

Leave a comment